Remembering a Day

There are very few events that happen in your life that you can remember exactly where you were, what you were doing and what you were thinking.  I remember the day that I got my acceptance letter in to the Nursing program at my college.  I was minutes from leaving to go to Atlanta; the next morning, bright and early, I was leaving to go on a month long study abroad to Mexico.  I was really confused and afraid when I opened the letter because we weren’t suppose to hear about it for another month.  I tore open the letter and had to read it a few times, I was even shaking so hard that I had to hand it to my dad to read because I wanted to make sure thaEVENT_9-11_Firemans_Flag_lgt I had read it correctly.  When my dad said “Yes, that’s right you got into nursing,” I started jumping up and screaming and yelling for my mom.

This is one of the happier moments that I remember.  I remember where I was when each of my grandparents died, when I found out that one of my best friends from high school had been murdered and I remember the day that I found out my mom had a 20 lb tumor on her ovary.  Most of all I remember where I was the day our whole world changed

The date was September 11th, 2001.  I was junior in High School and it just seemed like every other ordinary day.  I had just sat down in my chemistWTC-Memorial-Lights-726357ry class, when my friend, Jennifer (this is the aforementioned friend that was murdered) came rushing in to ask if I had heard about the plane crashes.  I was clueless, I didn’t know what she was talking about.  She told me all the details that she could gather from the news program she had been watching in her previous class.  (See some teachers that day let us watch the news and others tought it would be too upsetting.)  When our teacher came in our class room all we could talk about was whether or not it was an accident.  We went on with class, and when we were dismissed I went on to my next class which was lunch and newspaper, so of course we watched the news.  It was in this class that we learned about the third plane that hit the Pentagon and the fouth one that went down in Pennsylvania.  It was then that everyone knew for a fact this was no accident.  This fact gave me chills, after that all I wanted to do was go home.  When I finally got home that day my dad was there, he had left the office to come home for the day in order to hear the news.  We talked about what was going on and what it meant for us.  I remember saying to him, “I don’t understand, what did we do to these people, and why would anyone want to kill all those innocent people.”  It has taken me years to finally come to terms with what happened that day.  I will never understand the urge to kill innocent people.  But from this I have pushed myself to learn about different cultures and religions so that I might better understand where people are coming from.  This is one day in many that has changed the world or atleast changed our world.  Don’t ever forget the people that lost there lives just so these men could make a statement.  And remember to live life to it’s fullest because it can change in an instance.