Mac and Cheese …

Sometimes it surprises me the things that I remember my mom teaching me. Tonight I could decide what to make for dinner. I didn’t have much but some chicken breast, noodles, cheese and peas. So I cooked up the chicken breast and peas. Then I started cooking the pasta, but I didn’t want just plan pasta. Then it hit me. I remember the time my mom taught me how to make a simple cheese sauce for macaroni and cheese.

Just a pat or two of butter in a sauce pan, wait till it melts then add some flour. Mix it together till it makes a paste like consistency. Add some milk and stir till is starts to thicken. When it begins to thicken add cheese and stir till it melts. Drain the pasta and pour the sauce over the pasta.

That was the first actual cooking I think I ever did. I mean I made box cakes and box dinners, but I had never made anything from scratch. I felt like I had accomplished something. I think the coolest part was my mom taught me to do it without measuring anything out. I felt like a real cook, you know the ones that throw a pinch in of this and a dash in of that.

So tonight I tried to make the sauce and it work!! I made a simple but great cheese sauce. It was very yummy. Whenever I make this cheese sauce it brings me back to being in my mom’s kitchen and learning to make it the first time.  My mom is a great teacher and when you give her the chance she’ll teach you all that she knows!!  One day I hope to be able to pass on my knowledge.

Published in: on 27/04/2010 at 03:55  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://truckgirl370.wordpress.com/2010/04/27/mac-and-cheese/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

